Finding Community on Campus

Hello everyone! My name is Tala, and I am a current sophomore in the School of Health studying Human Science on the pre-med track. I am originally from Carmel, Indiana, about a 30 minute drive from Indianapolis, and am a proud Hoosier!! Here on campus, I have really found a community that makes Georgetown feel like a second home. Georgetown is full of amazing organizations and resources that allow everyone to find their place! Affinity groups for different cultural identities, such as the Asian American Student Association, Arab Society, South Asian Society, and so many more, are always available. The Women’s Center and LGBTQ+ Center provides important information and resources to all who need them. Other opportunities, such as club and intramural sports, allow students to try a new activity or continue participating in one from high school! If you want to explore outside of the campus, the different embassies that surround Georgetown always have fun events that allow you to learn more about the wide array of different cultures and identities. The people I have met here at Georgetown have taught me so much, and I am so grateful for the opportunities provided on campus to find a home away from home.

Tala (SOH ’26)

Leave a comment