Escaping the “Georgetown Bubble”

One of my favorite parts of Georgetown is that students are able to completely immerse themselves in the history of our country. After a long day of classes, one of my favorite ways to clear my mind and destress is to take a walk (or run) to the national mall. It’s about 2.5 miles from campus, and on your way you will walk along the beautiful Potomac waterfront, past the Kennedy Center, and come up on the backside of the Lincoln Memorial. Sometimes, I will just people-watch for a little, or on days where I have more time, I will go to a museum I have not seen yet. I also love to stop at one of the ice cream trucks lined up along the streets to grab an ice cream cone! There’s always so much going on around the National Mall, so it is a great place to go when you need to escape campus. Oftentimes, it can be hard to find time to leave campus and take care of yourself, both physically and mentally, but it is so important! You can’t be your best self if you are not taking care of yourself, so in my first year I have made sure that it is a priority of mine! Taking a walk, listening to some music, and seeing the beautiful history of DC is a great way to clear your head and get your body moving! I have noticed that it can be really easy to stay super close to campus (in the Georgetown bubble), but there is SO much to do in DC, so make sure to take advantage of it! That’s all from me. I can’t wait to welcome you to the hilltop! 

Alyvia CAS ‘27

Leave a comment